Countries Part of the Paris Agreement

The Paris Agreement is a pact within the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) aimed at combating climate change by reducing greenhouse gas emissions. As of 2021, 197 countries have signed the agreement, including the European Union, which is a single entity representing 27 countries.

The Paris Agreement was adopted in 2015 and entered into force on November 4, 2016. It has been widely accepted as a critical step towards limiting the global average temperature rise to well below 2°C above pre-industrial levels while pursuing efforts to limit the increase to 1.5°C.

The Paris Agreement requires each participating country to submit a plan outlining its specific climate action and to update it regularly. The agreement also aims to increase support for developing countries in their efforts to combat climate change, reduce greenhouse gas emissions and adapt to its effects.

Currently, the United States is the only country to have withdrawn from the Paris Agreement. However, President Joe Biden signed an executive order on his first day in office to rejoin the agreement. The United States officially rejoined on February 19, 2021.

Other countries that have yet to ratify the Paris Agreement include Iran, Iraq, Eritrea, Libya, South Sudan, Yemen, and Turkmenistan.

According to the Paris Agreement, countries are expected to report on their progress towards meeting their climate targets every five years. The first global stocktake will take place in 2023 to assess the collective progress of the agreement`s signatories in reducing global emissions.

The Paris Agreement is seen as a crucial step towards ensuring a sustainable future for the planet. As countries work together to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, we can hope for a cleaner, healthier, and more sustainable world for future generations.